Ryan Briscoe Wins Indianapolis 500 Pole

Ryan Briscoe prevailed at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in winning the pole race for Sunday's 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. Briscoe narrowly bested second-place finisher James Hinchcliffe.

+ show transcript » - hide transcript »


The starting grid is set for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. Ryan Briscoe, who crashed in practice on Pole Day last year, will start Sunday's race from the first slot. With an average speed of 226.484 miles per hour, Briscoe bested James Hinchcliffe by three thousandths of a mile per hour. Briscoe is the first Australian citizen to sit on the pole at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. He was awarded a cool $100,000 for his triumph. Briscoe's start will mark the 17th pole for team owner Roger Penske at the esteemed speedway. Briscoe described his day. Hinchcliffe will round out the front row for Sunday's 500. Despite taking home fifty grand, Hinchliffe was disappointed with how a strong day ended short of his ultimate goal. The green flag will drop on the 2012 Indianapolis 500 Sunday at noon eastern.