NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2013 Announced

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 was announced on Saturday night in New Orleans, site of Super Bowl XLVII. Bill Parcells, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden & four others will be enshrined.

Get More NFL Video

+ show transcript » - hide transcript »


HOF Announcement

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 was announced on Saturday night with seven new members being selected for induction. Pro Football Hall of Fame President and Director Steve Perry made the announcement in New Orleans, home of Super Bowl XLVII.


Drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 1987 Supplemental Draft, Cris Carter struggled to make an impact under then head coach Buddy Ryan and found himself cut after three troubled seasons. The following season, Carter joined the Minnesota Vikings where he made a name for himself by "always catching touchdowns." The sure-handed wideout collected 110 touchdowns in 12 seasons with Minnesota including a career-best 17 in 1995. Carter touched on his emotions of being enshrined into the Hall of Fame after a rocky start to his NFL career.


With all of the excitement surrounding Super Bowl XVLII, Johnathen Ogden, who played his entire career as a Baltimore Raven was enshrined for his first year of eligibility. Ogden was the first draft pick in Ravens history and transcended the left tackle position by protecting the blindside of right-handed quarterbacks for 12 seasons. The Washington DC native, who won a Super Bowl with current Raven and future hall of famer Ray Lewis in 2001, discussed his excitement for his former teammate and friend.


Bill Parcells joined the Hall of Fame Class as the only coach selected in 2013. Parcells was a two-time AP NFL Coach of the Year and won two Super Bowls as head coach of the New York "football" Giants. For more coverage surrounding the NFL stay with CineSport and follow us on twitter @CineSport.